known as the Stanley Chapel, this last addition to church is
one of its true glories. Designed by Sir Gilbert Scott it was
built in 1897 as a memorial to the Hon. William Owen Stanley
MP for Anglesey, archaeologist and benefactor to the town of
Holyhead. He financed most of the cost of refurbishing the church
in 1870. His wife, Elin, who predeceased him comissioned the
chapel, her niece, Dame Jane Adeane having it built.
quiet corner is dedicated to prayer in the presence of the Host
and is a blend of Victorian Gothic, Pre-Raphaelite and Art Nouveau.The
magnificent stained glass windows are from the William Morris
factory. The East window being the Tree of Life in true Morris
style. The side window is based on the work of his friend Sir
Edward Burne-Jones. The Angel with the instrument being one
of his designs.
artists involved include Bowman, Wren, Stokes, Walters,
Campfield and J.H. Dearle.The life-size effigy of W.O.
Stanley being sculpted in Carara marble by Hamo
Our Lady of Walsingham also standing in one corner. Laid
up are the the colours of the 6th Battalion, Caernarvonshire
and Anglesey Royal Welch Fusiliers (T.A.).
candles can be offered in an ancient font which was
in a former church in Llanynghenedl, near Valley. There
is an ancient altar stone and the icon of our two Anglesey
saints. Wreaths and emblems of the Normandy Veterans
Association are displayed at the entrance to the chapel.